Cornell Law School Logo - white on transparent background

Current Online Issues

Volume 106

Do Reason-Based Abortion Bans Prevent Eugenics?

Sital Kalantry, Associate Professor of Law, Seattle University School of Law

Oct 2021

COVID, Sex Discrimination, and Medical Research

Lori Andrews, J.D., is the Director of the Institute for Science, Law and Technology and Distinguished Professor of Law at IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law.

Bora Ndregjoni, third-year law student at IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law.

Apr 2021

Unequal Representation: Women in Clinical Research

Allison M. Whelan

Associate, Covington & Burling LLP, Washington D.C.; J.D., University of Minnesota Law School; M.A. Bioethics, University of Minnesota.  Special thanks to Professor Michele Goodwin and the editors of the Cornell Law Review.  The views expressed in this article are the author’s and do not represent those of any past, current, or future employer.

Apr 2021

Copyright Silencing

Cathay Y. N. Smith, Associate Professor of Law, University of Montana Blewett School of Law. Thanks to Aman Gebru, Jennifer Sturiale, Jacob Victor, Xiyin Tang, for comments and Nicholson Price and Alex Roberts for organizing the 2020 virtual JIPSA summer workshop. Thanks also to Orly Lobel and her students at University of San Diego School of Law for inviting me to talk about this Essay and Tiger King. Finally, thank you to the diligent law review editors at Cornell Law Review.

Jan 2021

The Electors Clause and the Governor’s Veto

Nathaniel F. Rubin. J.D., Stanford Law School, 2018. My thanks go to Lisa Larrimore Ouellette, Allison Douglis, Fares Akremi, and Adam Hersh—without whose feedback and guidance this Essay would not have been possible.  My thanks too to the editors of the Cornell Law Review for their excellent work under trying conditions—including Victor Flores, Nicholas Pulakos, Lachanda Reid, Gabriela Markolovic, and Jared Quigley. All errors are my own.

Jan 2021

Book Review—Yearning to Breathe Free: Migration Related Confinement in America

Danielle C. Jefferis. Assistant Professor, California Western School of Law. I owe deep gratitude to Professor César Cuauhtémoc García Hernández. His research and scholarship are significant contributions to this field and have pushed me to think critically about my own work. He and I, along with Carrie Rosenbaum and Jennifer Chacón, were in conversation about this book during an Author Meets Reader session at the Law and Society’s 2020 Annual Meeting, and our dialogue refined this piece. I also thank the editors of Cornell Law Review, including Gabriela Markolovic, Nicholas Pulakos, and Victor Flores, who have diligently and skillfully prepared this piece for publication during especially unsettled times. Any and all errors are mine.

Oct 2020

Ford’s Hidden Fairness Defect

Linda Sandstrom Simard, Professor of Law, Suffolk University Law School.

Cassandra Burke Robertson, John Deaver Drinko—BakerHostetler Professor of Law and Director of the Center for Professional Ethics, Case Western Reserve University School of Law.

Charles W. “Rocky” Rhodes, Professor of Law, South Texas College of Law Houston.

 

Oct 2020

New York Bail Reform: A Quick Guide to Common Questions and Concerns

Emmanuel Hiram Arnaud, law clerk at the United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit and former appellate public defender in New York City.

Beulah Sims-Agbabiaka, law clerk at the Eastern District of Pennsylvania and former appellate public defender in New York City.

Oct 2020

––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––